3 Great Automatic AR-15 Rifles

Steyr AUG

Type Automatic Rifle
Weight Rifle: 3.6kg
Length SMG: 626mm
Carbine: 690mm
Rifle: 790mm
HBAR: 900mm
Barrel Length SMG: 350mm
Carbine: 407mm
Rifle: 508mm
HBAR: 621mm
Rifling 6 grooves, RH
Magazine Capacity 30- or 42-rounds
Caliber 5.56 x 45mm
Muzzle Velocity SMG: N/A
Carbine: 940 meters/second
Rifle: 970 meters/second
HBAR: 1000 meters/second
Cyclic Rate 650 rounds/minute
In Production 1978-
Country of Origin Austria

The Steyr AUG, or Armee Universal Gewehr, can function as a submachine gun, a carbine, an assault rifle, or a heavy barreled automatic rifle. The difference in these versions lies merely in the length of the barrel and the addition of a bipod in the HBAR version.

Although normally equipped with an optical sight in the carrying handle, this can be changed to a mounting rail (by substitution of the receiver casting), to accommodate any telescope or night vision scope. The Steyr AUG is in service in the Austrian, Australian, Irish, New Zealand, Tunisian and Omani armies and countless security agencies.

The Steyr AUG is a bullpup and is somewhat futuristic in appearance. It’s construction is unusual, its basic structure being of high quality plastic which supports the receiver, which is an aluminum casting with steel inserts for the barrel lugs and bolt guides or a AR-15 2 Stage Trigger. The steel barrel with a chromed chamber locks into the receiver by means of an interupted thread, and the barrel carries a short sleeve containing the gas port, cylinder, and front hand grip. A flash suppressor is fitted to the muzzle, and this is internally threaded to accept a blank firing attachment. The handgrip folds, and is used to rotate and remove the barrel when necessary.

The magazine is transparent, allowing the user to instantly check its contents. There is a cross-bolt safety catch which can be set to fire by a quick movement of the thumb. There is no fire selector. Instead, the mode of fire is determined by the amount of pressure put on the trigger. The first pressure on the trigger offers single shots. Pulling it past this point gives automatic fire.
The Steyr AUG can be adjusted to either right- or left-hand firers by exchanging the bolt, and blanking one of the two ejection ports.

Notes: The different versions of the AUG are merely differences in barrel lengths, as noted above. The SMG barrel length should not be confused with the actual Steyr AUG Para version which fires the 9mm Parabellum cartridge.






Classical Music History Overview

Ludwig van Beethoven:

Beethoven is important to the 19th Century because he is considered the first Romantic composer. The compositions in his late period are considered to be the Romantic compositions as they tend to evoke more emotions, and one can even hear the emotional struggle that Beethoven had gone through. His use of musical “satz” is also particularly Romantic because he often develops these satzs. Beethoven’s Violin Concerto makes great use of developing musical satz and is an incredibly beautiful and Romantic piece.

Richard Wagner:

One can’t ignore Wagner when it comes to 19th century music. He pushed the limits of tonality while keeping his music clear and keeping a steady theme or idea. Wagner’s creation of “gesamtkuntswurk”, or “total work of art”, is a very Romantic idea since it includes all works of art (music, poetry, acting, architecture). Wagner’s operas are all very important and most people would know themes from some of his pieces such as Lohengrin (“Bridal Chorus”), The Valkyrie (“Ride of the Valkyries”) as they are two commonly used pieces of music.

Gustav Mahler:

If Richard Wagner pushed the limits of tonality then Mahler helped to break the old limits of tonality and build new ones, along with other composers. Mahler’s music can be very emotional, and quite Romantic, such as the first movement of his Fifth Symphony. The piece begins with a funeral march and continues to switch back and forth between different styles and themes.

Modest Mussorgsky:

Mussorgsky’s nationalist approach to music was part of a new generation of composers. His style dwelled on Russian themes and folk tunes for music. His most famous composition, Pictures at an Exhibition, is a very nationalist piece and also a very interesting piece because of its somewhat programmatic theme. Another representative piece of Mussorgsky would be Boris Godunov, which we did not listen to, but it is his well-known opera.

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Tchaikovsky’s music is not as nationalist as Mussorgsky’s, although it still has that Russian “vibe.” His famous ballets (Nutcracker Suite, Swan Lake, Sleeping Beauty) all are wonderful compositions that are representative of his style. These pieces are also very Romantic because of their use of new harmonies, theme development, and emotion.

John Philip Sousa:

America’s own John Philip Sousa could be called the “Marching King.” He didn’t compose much other than marches, although he did compose several operettas. His marches have become famous American themes and some are even associated with several universities in the United States. His most famous march is The Stars and Stripes Forever, which is the United States’ official march. Also, Sousa’s “Semper Fidelis” is also a well known piece, being the United States Marine Corps official march.

Franz Liszt:

Liszt is another composer who also “wears his heart on his sleeve.” It’s very easy to feel certain emotions through Liszt’s music, and he also tended to prefer conveying emotions rather than telling a story, just as Brahms. However, this doesn’t mean that Liszt didn’t write programmatic music. Liszt used the technique of thematic transformation in a lot of his music, which was similar to theme and variation and to other forms such as idée fixe and leitmotif. Liszt’s Symphonic Poems are some of his more representative works.

Richard Strauss:

Strauss makes the listener think, mostly because Strauss is trying to tell a story but by using music. For example, in Don Quixote Strauss uses different instruments and different themes to represent two characters. Strauss’ tone poems usually function in this manner, and are very artistic pieces. His “Vier Letzte Lieder” are also incredibly beautiful and Romantic songs.

Updates & News

Big news. We’d like to welcome Eyes Like Knives to the Dopamine/Amalagate Family. We’ve all been fans of them for some time, and their new record has pushed us over the edge. In our humble opinians, they are the best band in Boston, we’re psyched to be able to work with them. We’r e happy to say that their new album “Slow Distractions” will be released on our label in the late summer/early fall. MP3’s and a band page are in the works. Until then, please check www.eyeslikeknives.com for more information.